Madison Avenue Presbyterian Church


Highlights of the May Session Meeting

06.01.17 | News | by The Pastoral Staff

    Highlights of the May Session meeting

    The Session met in a regularly scheduled meeting on May 23. It took several actions. It received the annual audit report, which was presented by Gordon Shearer of the Trustees and Chair of the Audit Committee. It then examined the elected candidates for elder and deacon and approved them for ordination and installation on June 4. It also approved the selection of the Rev. Paula V. Cooper as the 2017-2019 Phillips Talbot Global Ministry Fellow, and approved the recommendation of the Search Committee for the Director of Christian Formation, Christina A. Cosby. Finally, the members of the Ad Hoc Committee for Long Range Financial Planning, which has been established in April, were named. They are Bill Welsh, Chair; Sharon Boersma; Laura Burg; Yvonne Wang Doherty; Curtis Field; Ed Herrold; Vicki Schmelzer; and Francois Silatchom. Committee assignments for the new session which begins after ordination were also handed out, and Carol Kechulius and Bill Hinrichs, who go off session, were thanked for their service.